What foods contain gluten?

1 Flares 1 Flares ×

What foods contain gluten?

 
I’ve been talking a lot lately about going gluten free and you may be wondering what foods contain gluten. Wheat is the most common source of gluten in our diet today, but there are also many other grains that contain gluten. So I’ve compiled a list of some common foods that contain gluten. Yes, I’m aware that it may be many of your favorite foods, but there are still plenty of options available to eat that are healthier. So always check labels and luckily there are now many great alternatives that are gluten free!
 
 
So when buying food here are the grains to watch out for that contain gluten:
 
  • Barley
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • CousCous
  • Durum Flour
  • Farina
  • Graham
  • Kamut
  • Orzo
  • Panko
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Soba
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

And these food additives often derived from gluten grains may contain gluten:

  • Caramel Coloring
  • Cornmeal
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
  • Malt, Malt Flavoring, Malt Vinegar
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Textured Vegetable Protein
 
So where do you find these ingredients? Many of the ingredients above will be found in these foods; however, there may be gluten free options available. Always check the label or look for foods that are labeled as gluten free.
 
  • Bagels
  • Beer
  • Bread
  • Cake
  • Candy
  • Cereal
  • Chips
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • French Fries
  • Granola and Granola Bars
  • Gravies
  • Muffins
  • Pasta
  • Pies
  • Processed Lunch Meat
  • Salad Dressings
  • Sauces and Marinades
  • Seasoned Rice Mixes
  • Soups
  • Tortillas
  • Wraps

Yes, I know that’s A LOT of foods. And now you’re probably wondering what the heck can I eat? What foods don’t contain gluten? Well there are still many healthy options available that will leave you feeling full and with a lot more energy than most gluten containing foods. These foods include:

  • Amaranth
  • Beans and Legumes
  • Cocoa, especially dark chocolate
  • Condiments such as mustard, horseradish, vinegar, or salsa
  • Cooking oils such as olive oil or coconut oil
  • Eggs
  • Fresh meats
  • Fruit
  • Gluten free flour such as rice, soy, corn, potato, or bean flour
  • Millet
  • Most dairy
  • Nuts
  • Oats processed in a gluten free facility
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Seeds
  • Sorghum
  • Spices
  • Teff
  • Veggies

 

Did I forget anything?

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *